FroqelMenu prices · CanadaSearch prices/

Prices are in Canadian dollars, before tax, on the date each page was verified.

Drive-thru vs app ordering in Canada: what you actually overpay

Verified August 6, 2026Updated September 2, 2026CAD, before taxGuide

Chains do run app-only offers, and they are often good. What nobody can honestly give you is a number for how much they save, because in-app pricing is targeted: two people in the same queue see different offers, the depth changes weekly, and a coupon that appeared in one account never appeared in another.

So there is no table of app coupon prices on this page. Any figure claiming "app users pay 22% less" is a figure someone made up, because the comparison it describes is not a stable quantity.

What is stable, published, and checkable is the board price itself. And that is where the predictable money goes, because at the speaker you almost always accept the default — the combo — and whether the combo is a saving turns out to depend entirely on which chain's speaker you are talking to.

At Wendy's, taking the combo saves you between $1.08 and $3.38. At McDonald's, eight of the nine meals with published both-ways pricing charge more for the fries and drink than buying them separately costs.

McDonald's: the step-up is bigger than the parts

The McDonald's file on this site lists nine items both standalone and as an Extra Value Meal, so the price of the fries and the drink falls straight out by subtraction.

McDonald's: the step-up is bigger than the parts
ItemStandaloneExtra Value MealStep-up
Double Hamburger$3.39$6.69$3.30
McChicken$8.39$14.59$6.20
Big Mac$8.39$14.79$6.40
6 Chicken McNuggets$8.39$14.79$6.40
10 Chicken McNuggets$11.39$17.79$6.40
Sweet Chili McWrap$10.59$17.19$6.60
Chicken & Bacon McWrap$10.59$17.19$6.60
Cajun Ranch McWrap$10.99$17.59$6.60
Creamy Avocado Ranch McWrap$10.59$17.19$6.60

Eight of the nine sit in a tight band, $6.20 to $6.40 to $6.60, which looks like fixed upcharge tiers rather than a per-item calculation.

Now put that against the à la carte prices on the same menu. World Famous Fries are $2.99 and a Coca-Cola is $1.69, which is $4.68 for the pair. Every step-up except one charges more than that — between $1.52 and $1.92 more.

The honest caveat, which the McDonald's page flags too: the source does not state what sizes the combo fries and drink are. If they default to larger sizes, some of that gap is food rather than margin. It is not possible to tell from a price list, so the safe reading is that at McDonald's the combo is not automatically the cheaper route, and it is worth pricing the sandwich plus a drink separately if you did not want large fries.

The exception is worth ordering deliberately: the Double Hamburger meal steps up by $3.30, roughly half of everything else, and $1.38 less than the fries and Coke would cost on their own.

Wendy's: the combo is always worth taking

Wendy's does the opposite, and does it with unusual consistency: 15 of the 19 items it prices both ways step up by exactly $5.20. Not roughly. Exactly. Dave's Single goes $7.29 to $12.49, the Baconator $10.39 to $15.59, the 10-piece nuggets $7.19 to $12.39.

Because that step is flat and the à la carte sides are not, the value of the combo depends on which sizes you would otherwise have bought:

Wendy's: the combo is always worth taking
What you'd have bought separatelyCostCombo stepYou save
Smallest fries ($2.99) plus smallest Coca-Cola ($3.29)$6.28$5.20$1.08
Largest fries plus largest drink$8.58$5.20$3.38

There is no size at which paying à la carte at Wendy's comes out ahead. That is genuinely unusual — on most Canadian menus the combo stops being worth it at the cheap end — and it means the default answer at a Wendy's speaker is simply "yes, make it a combo."

The catch is at the bottom of the menu rather than in the arithmetic: six of Wendy's cheapest burgers cannot be ordered as a combo at all, which is why the chain has no lunch combo under $10.

Burger King: it depends which combo

Burger King splits the difference, and the split is sharp.

The Cheeseburger Small Combo at $5.69 beats buying the cheeseburger, small fries and a small drink separately by $1.78. That is a real discount and it is the cheapest full meal in the country.

Move up one tier and it evaporates. The medium and large combos beat their à la carte equivalents by $0.08 — from $9.17 and $10.07 separately against $9.09 and $9.99 as combos. Eight cents.

So at Burger King the small combo is a genuine deal and the medium is a wash. If you were going to buy the parts anyway, the medium combo neither saves nor costs you anything worth the words.

What to actually do at the speaker

  1. Know your chain's answer before you pull in. Wendy's: take the combo, always. Burger King: take the small combo, ignore the upsell. McDonald's: consider the sandwich and a drink separately unless you wanted the larger sides.
  2. Check the app's offers tab before you start the car. The offers are real even though their depth cannot be published. Thirty seconds in the parking lot beats guessing at the microphone.
  3. Use the app deal in the drive-thru lane. You do not have to go inside. Chains that run in-app offers generally support redeeming them in the drive-thru, either through a code you read at the speaker or by placing a mobile order and selecting drive-thru pickup. The mechanics differ by app, so look once before you need it.
  4. Expect one promotion per transaction. Tills generally will not stack a coupon with a loyalty redemption or another offer, so pick the larger.
  5. Earn points either way. Both major loyalty programmes accrue on paid spending regardless of whether you ordered at a screen or a speaker; the rewards comparison covers what those points are worth.

Frequently asked questions

Is it cheaper to order fast food on the app than at the drive-thru?

Often, but the size of the gap cannot be stated honestly as a single number. In-app offers are targeted to individual accounts and change weekly, so the discount you see is not the discount someone else sees. Check your own app rather than trusting a published percentage.

Is the combo cheaper than ordering items separately?

It depends on the chain. At Wendy's, yes, at every size, by $1.08 to $3.38. At Burger King the small combo saves $1.78 and the medium saves $0.08. At McDonald's, eight of the nine meals with published both-ways pricing charge $6.20 to $6.60 for fries and a drink that cost $4.68 separately.

What is the best-value meal upgrade at McDonald's?

The Double Hamburger Extra Value Meal, which steps up by $3.30 against $6.20 to $6.60 on everything else, and costs $1.38 less than buying World Famous Fries and a Coca-Cola on their own.

Why do chains offer discounts in the app but not on the menu board?

Because the app gives them something the board does not: an account, a purchase history and a channel to push an offer at you. A board price is available to everyone and cannot be targeted or withdrawn from one customer.

Can I use an app coupon in the drive-thru?

Generally yes. Chains running in-app offers support redeeming them in the lane, usually through a code read at the speaker or a mobile order set for drive-thru pickup. The exact steps differ by app, so check yours once rather than discovering it at the window.

Do I still earn loyalty points if I use a coupon?

Usually on the amount you actually pay, rather than the pre-discount total. The specifics are in each programme's terms, and are worth checking if you are choosing between a coupon and a points redemption.

Methodology and disclaimer

Standalone and combo prices come from the verified menu files behind this site's McDonald's, Wendy's and Burger King pages, recorded August 2026. Step-up figures are calculated by subtracting the standalone price from the meal price for the items each file prices both ways. The McDonald's file covers one Toronto restaurant and does not state the sizes of combo fries and drinks, which is flagged rather than assumed. No in-app coupon or promotional prices are published here, because targeted offers vary by account and week and none have been verified. Prices exclude provincial sales taxes.

Froqel is an independent price guide. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any restaurant chain named here. All trademarks belong to their respective owners.